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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO  CA  94257-0540

This insert explains the adjustments we made to your 
entity’s tax return.
To help you understand our adjustments: 
1. Match the Paragraph Codes from the enclosed notice 

with the Paragraph Code Explanations on this insert.
2. Compare the information on your entity’s tax return 

and supporting documents with the information on the 
enclosed notice.

We refer to:
 • California Revenue and Taxation Code as R&TC.
 • The California Secretary of State’s Office as SOS.
 • Limited Liability Companies as LLCs. 

All Franchise Tax Board (FTB) forms and publications we 
reference are available at ftb.ca.gov/Forms.
If you disagree with our adjustments or you need 
clarification, contact us by phone, fax, or mail. Refer to 
Connect With Us for contact information. 
If you contact us, we will need your: 

 • Name, address, and phone number.
 • Entity’s identification number. 
 • Enclosed notice number.

If you call us, have your entity’s tax return, supporting 
documents, and the enclosed notice available during the 
call.
If you write or fax information to us, include copies of the 
enclosed notice and any supporting documents. Send any 
written correspondence to:
 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
 PO BOX 942857
 SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0540
Connect With Us
Web: ftb.ca.gov
Phone: 800.852.5711 weekdays, except state holidays
 916.845.6500 from outside the United States
California  
Relay  
Service:  711 or 800.735.2929 for persons with  
 hearing or speaking limitations

Paragraph Code Explanations
AA We revised the tax your corporation reported on its tax 

return for one of the following reasons:
 • We found a computation error.
 • Your corporation used the incorrect tax rate.
 •  Your corporation’s tax cannot be less than the 

minimum franchise tax, if it incorporated or qualified 
before January 1, 2000.

 •  Your corporation incorporated or qualified 
through SOS on or after January 1, 2000. In these 
situations, the tax on the first required corporation 
tax return may be less than the minimum franchise 
tax. If inactive or operating at a loss, no minimum 
franchise tax is due. On subsequent required tax 
returns, the tax cannot be less than the minimum 
franchise tax. 

 •  Because your corporation’s taxable income exceeds 
$1,000,000, it cannot deduct the Net Operating 
Loss (NOL) carryover. This law applies to tax years 
2020 through 2022 (R&TC Section 24416.23). As a 
result, we revised the tax return.
Because your corporation’s net income after state 

adjustments (pre-apportioned income) exceeds 
$300,000, it cannot deduct the Net Operating Loss 
(NOL) carryover. This law applies to 2010 and 2011 
tax years (R&TC Section 24416.21). As a result, we 
revised the tax return.

 •  Because your corporation’s net business income 
exceeds $500,000, it cannot deduct the Net Operating 
Loss (NOL) carryover. This law applies to 2008 and 
2009 tax years (R&TC Section 24416.9). As a result, 
we revised the tax return.

 •  We are revising your net operating loss (NOL) 
carryback amount that your corporation reported on 
its tax return since NOL carrybacks are not allowed 
for any NOL attributable to taxable years beginning 
after December 31, 2018 pursuant to California 
Revenue and Taxation Code  
Section 24416(d)(1).

If your corporation carries tax credits over to a 
subsequent year, then revise that amount on the 
subsequent year accordingly. 

AB Your corporation must pay the minimum franchise tax 
for each tax year even if it is inactive or operates at a 
loss.

AC Corporations doing business in California are subject 
to the minimum franchise tax.

AD Corporations subject to tax under Chapter 3 of the 
Corporation Tax Law are not subject to the minimum 
franchise tax.

AE The minimum franchise tax is due until your 
corporation files one or more of the following 
documents with SOS:

 • Certificate of Election to Wind Up and Dissolve 
(Form ELEC STK), if a domestic stock corporation.

 • Certificate of Dissolution (Form DISS STK), also if a 
domestic stock corporation. 

 • Certificate of Election to Wind Up and 
Dissolve (Form ELEC NP), if a domestic 
nonprofit corporation.

 • Certificate of Dissolution (Form DISS NP), also if a 
domestic nonprofit corporation.

 • Certificate of Surrender, if a foreign corporation.
AF Minimum or annual tax is due for each entity that the 

parent includes in a combined report. This applies to 
entities that formed with SOS or that do business in 
California. Entities that formed with SOS must pay 
minimum or annual tax, even if they are inactive.

AG Our records do not indicate that we granted your 
corporation tax-exempt status. Therefore, it is subject 
to the franchise or income tax.

AH Your corporation used the incorrect financial tax rate.
AI Corporations that elect S corporation treatment are 

subject to tax at the rate of 1.5 percent of net income. 
However, the tax must not be less than the minimum 
franchise tax.

Return Information Notice Explanation
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AJ Limited partnerships (LPs), limited liability partnerships 
(LLPs), and real estate mortgage investment conduits 
(REMICs) must pay an amount equal to the minimum 
franchise tax. However, they are not subject to 
franchise or income tax. 
In addition an LP or LLP that files, registers, or 
organizes to do business in the state, for taxable 
years beginning or after January 1, 2021, and before 
January 1, 2024, is exempt from payment of the 
annual tax in its first taxable year.

AK We do not require credit unions whose gross receipts 
come solely from membership income to pay the 
minimum franchise tax if the tax year begins on or 
after January 1, 1990.

AL A corporation is subject to Chapters 2 and 3 of the 
Corporation Tax Law until it files a Certificate of 
Dissolution with SOS. This law applies even if it is 
inactive or operates at a loss.

AM Your corporation, which we classify as an insurance 
company, is no longer subject to the franchise tax 
provisions of the Corporation Tax Law.

AN All qualified subchapter S subsidiaries (Qsub) that are 
incorporated or qualified with SOS, or that do business 
in California, are subject to an annual tax amount 
which equals the minimum franchise tax.

AO Every Financial Asset Securitization Investment Trust 
(FASIT) is subject to the minimum franchise tax.

AP Your corporation used the incorrect tax rate.
AR We revised the tax your corporation reported. The 

minimum tax is $800 unless it indicated that it met the 
definition of a qualified new corporation. A qualified 
new corporation is one that:

 • Incorporated on or after January 1, 1999, and before 
January 1, 2000.

 • Reasonably estimated its gross receipts, less 
returns and allowances reportable to California, to 
be $1 million or less.

 • Reasonably estimated it would not have a tax 
liability that exceeded the minimum franchise tax of 
$800.

 • Began business operation at or after the time of its 
incorporation.

 • Did not begin business as a sole proprietorship, 
partnership, or other form of business entity before it 
incorporated.

The minimum tax for the second tax year of a qualified 
new corporation was $500. 

BB Tax credits that your corporation claimed cannot 
reduce tax below the minimum franchise tax. If your 
corporation carries tax credits over to a subsequent 
year, then revise that amount on the subsequent year 
accordingly.

BC Tax credits that your business entity claimed cannot 
exceed the maximum amounts the statute allows. 
If your corporation carries tax credits over to a 
subsequent year, then revise that amount on the 
subsequent year accordingly.

BD We revised the tax credits that your business entity 
claimed because we could not locate the schedules 
and identify the tax credit it claimed. If your corporation 
carries tax credits over to a subsequent year, 
then revise that amount on the subsequent year 
accordingly.

BE We revised your Main Street Small Business Tax 
Credit due to one of the following:

 • We do not have a record of your credit reservation 
from the California Department  
of Tax and Fee Administration.

 • You claimed an amount greater than you were 
allocated in your reservation.

BF We disallowed your New Jobs Credit generated 
amount based on one or both of the following reasons:

 • You did not file your original tax return timely. 
 • You filed after the New Jobs Credit cutoff date.

BG We revised your New Employment Credit due to one 
of the following:

 • We do not have a record of your credit reservation.
 • The credit was not claimed on a timely filed original 

tax return.
 • A net increase full-time employees was not reported. 

BH We revised your Homeless Hiring Credit due to one of 
the following: 

 • We do not have a record of your tentative credit 
reservation from the Franchise Tax Board.

 • You claimed an amount greater than the annual  
limit for each qualified taxpayer

BI We revised your High-Road Cannabis Tax Credit  
due to one of the following: 

 • We do not have a record of your credit reservation. 
You claimed an amount greater than the maximum  
credit amount of $250,000. 

BJ We revised your Cannabis Equity Tax Credit due to 
one of the following: 

 • We do not have record of you receiving a fee waiver 
or deferral from the Department of Cannabis 
Control. 

 •  You claimed an amount greater than the maximum  
credit amount of $10,000. 

CA We revised the tax your corporation reported because 
we found a computation error in adding one or more of 
the following:

 • The alternative minimum tax.
 • Tax from Schedule D.
 • Excessive net income tax.
 • Preference tax. We revised the corresponding lines 

on your corporation’s tax return.
DA We revised the prior year overpayment your 

corporation claimed because the amount 
was incorrect.

DB We applied an estimated tax payment or credit to 
another tax year according to your corporation’s 
instructions. We cannot refund or transfer those funds 
to a different tax year until your corporation files a tax 
return for that year.

DC We have no record of a prior year credit.
DD We refunded all or part of the overpayment amount 

from the prior year that your business entity claimed 
on its tax return.

DE Your business entity may not claim pending credits 
due to a claim for refund until we allow the claim.

EA We revised the estimated tax payment amount that 
your corporation reported on its tax return to reflect 
what we received.

EB The minimum tax your corporation paid to SOS when 
it incorporated is for the privilege of doing business 
in California. It cannot claim this as an estimated tax 
payment.

EE We revised the amount of real estate, backup, 
resident, or nonresident withholding to the greater of:

 • The amount we substantiated from Forms 592-B 
and 593, which your business entity attached to its 
tax return.

 • The amount of credit we were able to verify. 
If you disagree with our revision, please contact 
Withholding Services and Compliance
Phone: 888.792.4900
Fax: 916.845.9512

EF We credited your entity with payments its subsidiaries 
made.
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FA Your entity claimed an incorrect extension payment 
amount. 

GA We revised the dissolving/withdrawing credit that your 
corporation claimed on its tax return for one of the 
following reasons:

 • Your corporation cannot claim this credit if it 
incorporated or qualified after December 31, 1971.

 • Your corporation must formally dissolve to claim this 
credit. SOS’ records do not indicate it dissolved.

HA We revised the tax due that your business entity 
reported on its tax return either to correct a 
computation error or to reflect our adjustments to 
the preceding lines.

HB Your corporation made an error when it transferred 
figures from Schedule J to Side 1 of its tax return 
or in its computation of the look-back amount 
tax adjustment.

HS Your entity designated on its tax return that its only 
source of income is qualified health care service plan 
income that is excludable from gross income under 
R&TC Section 24330. We disallowed this designation 
because your entity’s qualified health care service 
plan is not listed with the Department of Health Care 
Services as subject to the Managed Health Care 
Provider tax.

IA We revised the overpayment your corporation reported 
to correct a computation error.

JA We revised the credit to the next year’s estimated tax 
for one or more of the following reasons:

 • We found a computation error.
 • We revised the total tax your corporation reported.
 • We transferred the minimum amount the law 

requires for the first estimate due on the subsequent 
year. 

JB We applied part or all of the overpayment from your 
corporation’s tax return to the next year’s estimated 
tax. Contact us if you do not want this. If we refund 
the credit, your corporation may be subject to an 
estimated tax penalty when it files next year’s 
tax return.

JC We applied the overpayment from your corporation’s 
tax return to the next year’s estimated tax as 
requested.

KA We revised the refund amount on your corporation’s 
tax return to reflect the amount of available payments 
and credits.

KB We may not allow your business entity a refund or 
credit beyond the later of: 

 • Four years after the original tax return due date.
 • Four years after the file date of the original tax 

return. Your corporation must have filed by the 
extended due date.

 • One year after the payment date.
KC We applied part or all of the refund that your business 

entity claimed on its tax return to a prior balance due.
MA We revised the prepayment tax amount your 

corporation paid to SOS. If your corporation met the 
definition of a qualified new corporation (QNC), then 
the tax was $600. This amount applied to tax years 
that began on or after January 1, 1997, but before 
January 1, 1999. For that period, a QNC was one that: 

 • Reasonably estimated its gross receipts, less 
returns and allowances reportable to California, to 
be $1 million or less.

 • Reasonably estimated its California tax liability, 
which it bases upon its income, would not 
exceed $800.

 • Another corporation owned 50 percent or less of its 
stock.

The prepayment tax to SOS was $300 if your 
corporation met the definition of a QNC for tax years 
that began on or after January 1, 1999, but before 
January 1, 2000. For that period, a QNC was one that:

 • Began operation on or after the date it incorporated.
 • Reasonably estimated its gross receipts, less 

returns and allowances reportable to California, to 
be $1 million or less.

 • Less than 50 percent of its stock was owned by 
another corporation.

 • Did not begin business as a sole proprietorship, 
partnership, or other form of business entity before it 
incorporated.

SOS did not require your corporation to pay any 
prepayment tax for its first tax year if it:

 • Incorporated or qualified with SOS on or after 
January 1, 2000.

 • Was not a Regulated Investment Company (RIC), 
Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC), 
Financial Asset Securitization Investment Trust 
(FASIT), or a Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiary 
(Qsub).

 • Did not reorganize solely to avoid payment of the 
minimum tax.

MB Your corporation paid a prepayment tax of $600 
when it incorporated with SOS. (Refer to paragraph 
MA for this definition.) However, it did not meet the 
definition of a qualified new corporation. It should 
have paid $800 prepayment tax to SOS. We made the 
adjustment.

MC Under California law, corporations that do business in 
California must pay the minimum tax on or before the 
first estimate due date. This tax is $800.

MD Information on your corporation’s tax return indicates 
it is a qualified new corporation. (Refer to paragraph 
MA for this definition.) A qualified new corporation 
must pay $600 to SOS when it incorporates. Your 
corporation paid $800.

ME We cannot grant your corporation’s request for a $200 
refund of the prepayment tax it paid to SOS. Your 
corporation does not meet the definition of a qualified 
new corporation. (Refer to paragraph MA.)

MF Your corporation paid $300 to SOS when it 
incorporated. (Refer to paragraph MA.) SOS charged 
a prepayment tax of $800. We made the adjustment.

MG Information on your corporation’s tax return indicates 
it is a qualified new corporation (QNC). (Refer to 
paragraph MA.) When QNCs incorporated, SOS 
charged them $300. Your corporation paid $800.

MH We cannot grant your corporation’s request for a $500 
refund of the prepayment tax it paid to SOS. Your 
corporation does not meet the definition of a qualified 
new corporation. (Refer to paragraph MA.)

NB We issued your organization this refund because we 
approved its application for tax-exempt status.

PA We revised the payments balance shown on your tax 
return due to a computation error. If you reported use 
tax, payments and/or credits must be applied to use 
tax first. For use tax assistance, please contact the 
Information Center at the California Department of Tax 
and Fee Administration at 800.400.7115.

PB We assessed a penalty for the period your corporation 
did not pay the estimated tax.

PC No estimated tax penalty is due for the tax year that 
we show on the enclosed notice.

PD We assessed penalties and interest where applicable. 
Refer to Interest Information and Penalties and 
Fees Information within this insert.
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PE Per RTC 19900 your Pass-through entity elective tax is 
being disallowed due to one of the following:

 • The election is irrevocable
 • The election cannot be added to an amended 

return.
PF Your pass-through entity elective tax is being 

disallowed because a Single Member Limited Liability 
Company (disregarded entities) cannot claim the 
elective tax. (Per R&TC Section 19902)

PG Your pass-through entity elective tax is being 
disallowed because publicly traded partnerships 
cannot claim the elective tax. (Per R&TC 
Section 19902)

RA Total income is defined as gross income plus the 
cost of goods sold; it does not include losses (R&TC 
Sections 17942 and 24271). We revised the amount 
on line 1 of Form 568, Limited Liability Company 
Return of Income, for one or more of the following 
reasons:

 • It is a negative amount.
 • It is less than the gross profit calculated on 

Form 568, Limited Liability Company Return of 
Income, Schedule B, Income and Deductions.

 • The LLC Income Worksheet was incorrect or 
not attached. We calculated your income using 
the information you provided on Forms 568, 
Schedule B, Income and Deductions, and 
Schedule K, Member’s Shares of Income, 
Deductions, Credits, etc. 

For more information, get FTB 3556 LLC MEO, 
Limited Liability Company Filing Information.

RB LLCs that do business in California are subject to an 
annual fee based on the total income they attribute to 
California (R&TC Section 17942). We revised the fee 
your LLC reported on its tax return either because we 
found a computation error, or it used the incorrect fee 
amount.

RC We revised the annual tax your LLC reported on its tax 
return for one of the following reasons:

 • It does business in California.
 • SOS issued it a Certificate of Registration.
 • SOS endorsed its Articles of Organization.
 • An LLC that files, registers, or organizes to 

do business in the state, for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and before 
January 1, 2024, is exempt from payment of the 
annual tax in its first taxable year.

RD We revised the nonconsenting nonresident members’ 
(NCNR) tax your LLC reported on its tax return 
because we found a computation error or it used an 
incorrect tax rate.

RE We revised the annual tax your LLC reported on its tax 
return. For your LLC to qualify for zero tax, it must file 
a Limited Liability Company Short Form Certificate of 
Cancellation (LLC-4/8) with SOS within 12 months of 
filing its Articles of Organization (LLC-1). For this to 
apply, your LLC must not have conducted business. 
Annual tax payments that a registered LLC made for 
its first tax year are not refundable.

RF We revised the extension and annual tax payments 
your LLC reported on its tax return because the 
amounts are incorrect.

RG We revised the tax and fee due that your LLC reported 
on its tax return to correct a computation error.

RH We revised the credit to next year’s tax or fee 
your LLC reported on its tax return for one of the 
following reasons:

 • We found a computation error.
 • We made a change to the total tax and fee due.

 • We corrected the payment amount and 
credits available. 

RI We applied part or all of the overpayment from your 
LLC’s tax return to the next year’s tax liability. Contact 
us if you do not want this. If we refund the credit, your 
LLC may be subject to a late payment penalty for the 
next year.

RJ We offset all or part of the total overpayment to 
other liabilities that exist on your LLC’s account. If 
you disagree with our offset, you can file a claim for 
refund. File the claim for refund for the year to which 
we applied the overpayment. If the overpayment did 
not completely satisfy the liability for that tax year, your 
LLC must pay the tax and penalties before you submit 
the claim. The claim should be in the form of a letter 
with a title, “Claim for Refund” and must provide the 
following:

 • The LLC’s name and ID number.
 • All tax years involved. 
 • Total amount of the claim. 
 • The reason for the claim and any substantiation.

Send the claim for refund letter to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO CA  94257-0540

RK We revised the Partnership Level Tax your business 
entity reported to correct a computation error.

RL We revised the total tax your partnership reported 
because we found a computation error in adding the 
tax and/or Partnership Level Tax line.

SA We disallowed your corporation’s request for direct 
deposit of its refund. We did this because the required 
information was missing, invalid, or illegible. We 
converted the request to a paper check to ensure a 
timely refund.

UT We revised the use tax balance shown on your tax 
return due to a computation error. If you reported 
use tax, payments and/or credits must be applied to 
use tax first. For use tax assistance, please contact 
the Information Center at the California Department 
of Tax and Fee Administration at 800.400.7115 or 
go to cdtfa.ca.gov.

VA We offset all or part of your entity’s total overpayment 
to other liabilities on its account. If you disagree 
with our offset, you can file a claim for refund. File 
the claim for the tax year to which we applied the 
overpayment. If the offset did not completely satisfy 
the liability for that tax year, your entity must pay the 
tax and penalties before you submit the claim. (Refer 
to paragraph RJ for instructions on how to file a claim 
for refund.)

WA We offset all or part of your corporation’s total 
overpayment to other liabilities on a related 
corporation’s account. If you disagree with our offset, 
you can file a claim for refund. File the claim for the tax 
year to which we applied the overpayment. If the offset 
did not completely satisfy the liability for that tax year, 
then your corporation must pay the tax and penalties 
before you submit the claim. (Refer to paragraph code 
RJ for instructions on how to file a claim for refund.)

XA The California Department of Tax and Fee 
Administration (CDTFA) notified us that your entity has 
an outstanding liability with them. We offset its refund 
against that liability. Refer to the enclosed notice for 
the amount we credited to them. You may call CDTFA 
from within the United States at 800.400.7115 or from 
outside the United States, at 916.445.6362.

XB The State Controller’s Office (SCO) notified us that 
your entity has an outstanding liability with them. 
We offset its refund against that liability. Refer to the 
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We charge C corporations an interest rate that is 2 percent 
greater than the current rate if:

 • Their total unpaid tax for any taxable year 
exceeds $100,000.

 • They do not pay the full balance due within 30 days of 
the original notice date.

To locate both past and current interest rates, go to 
ftb. ca.gov and search for interest rates. 
Penalties and Fees Information
Penalties 
Estimated Tax Penalty We impose a penalty if your entity 
does not pay, pays late, or underpays an estimated tax 
installment. We calculate the penalty on the unpaid amount 
from the due date of the estimated tax installment to the 
following dates, whichever is earlier (R&TC Section 19142): 

 • The date we receive your payment.
 • The 15th day of the 3rd month after the close of the 

taxable year if filing forms 100, 100W, or 100S.
 • The due date of the tax return if filing form 109.

LLC Estimated Fee Penalty We impose a penalty when 
you fail to estimate and pay the annual fee by the 15th day 
of the 6th month of the tax year. The penalty is 10 percent 
of the underpaid fee. (R&TC Section 17942)
Delinquent Return Penalty – Corporation and 
Partnership If you do not file your entity’s income tax 
return by the due date, we impose a penalty of 5 percent of 
the tax due, after applying any payments and credits made 
on or before the original tax return due date, for each month 
or part of a month the tax return is late. The maximum 
penalty is 25 percent. We impose the penalty from the 
original due date of the tax return. (R&TC Section 19131)
Delinquent Return Penalty – LLC If you do not file your 
limited liability company’s income tax return by the due 
date, we impose a penalty. After we deduct your timely 
payments and credits, we charge 5 percent monthly on 
the fee and/or nonconsenting nonresident members’ tax 
indicated on your tax return, not to exceed 25 percent. We 
impose the penalty from the original tax return due date. 
(R&TC Section 19131)
Delinquent Return Penalty – Form 199 If you do not file 
your organization’s Form 199 by the extended due date, we 
impose a penalty of $5 per month for each month or part of 
a month the Form 199 is late. The maximum penalty is $40. 
We impose the penalty from the original due date of the 
return. (R&TC Section 23772)
Demand to File Penalty If we send you a demand to 
file your entity’s income tax return or to provide us with 
information, and you do not comply, we impose a penalty 
of 25 percent of the tax on our assessment before applying 
any payments or credits. Therefore, your entity may owe 
penalties and interest even if its tax return shows that 
a refund is due. (R&TC Section 19133) The demand to 
file penalty is in addition to the 25 percent late filing penalty 
imposed pursuant to R&TC Section 19131. 
Nonqualified, Suspended, or Forfeited Entity Demand 
Penalty We impose a $2,000 penalty if your entity is a 
nonqualified or forfeited foreign corporation or foreign 
LLC or a suspended domestic corporation or suspended 
domestic LLC doing business in California and fails to file 
a tax return within 60 days of our Demand for Tax Return 
notice date. (R&TC Section 19135)  

enclosed notice for the amount we credited to SCO. 
You may call them at 916.322.0608.

XD The Attorney General’s Office notified us that your 
entity has an outstanding liability with them. We offset 
its refund against that liability. Refer to the enclosed 
notice for the amount we credited to them. You may 
call the Attorney General’s Office at 800.952.5225 or 
from outside the United States, at 916.445.9555.

XE The Medical Board of California notified us that your 
entity has an outstanding liability with them. We offset 
its refund against that liability. Refer to the enclosed 
notice for the amount we credited to them. You may 
call the Medical Board of California at 800.633.2322 or 
from outside the United States, at 916.263.2382.

XF The Pharmacy Board notified us that your entity has 
an outstanding liability with them. We offset its refund 
against that liability. Refer to the enclosed notice for 
the amount we credited to them. You may call the 
Pharmacy Board at 916.518.3100.

XG  A California city, county, or agency notified us that 
your entity has an outstanding liability with them. We 
offset all or part of this overpayment to that liability. We 
mailed a notice with details about this transaction to 
your entity. If you have any questions, you may call us 
at 916.845.5344.

YA The Employment Development Department (EDD) 
notified us that your entity has an outstanding liability 
with them. We offset its refund against that liability. 
Refer to the enclosed notice for the amount we 
credited to them. You may call EDD from within the 
United States at 888.745.3886 or from outside the 
United States, at 916.464.3502. 

ZC The overpayment is due to duplicate or 
additional payments.

ZD If your corporation wants us to refund this credit, return 
a copy of this notice with a request for refund. If we 
refund the credit, your corporation may be subject to 
an estimated tax penalty for the next tax year.

ZE We applied all or part of your corporation’s overpayment 
to a balance due on a subsidiary account.

ZF We base the tax for the year in which a corporation 
either dissolves or withdraws on the income for that 
year plus the income for the preceding year. However, 
the tax cannot be less than the minimum tax.

ZG We disallowed your entity’s request for a waiver of 
penalties and interest due to a disaster or act of 
terrorism. We did this for one of the following reasons:

 • The tax year does not fall within the designated 
period to claim the disaster or terrorism loss.

 • The loss did not occur within the designated 
disaster or terrorism area.

ZH We partially disallowed your entity’s request for waiver 
of penalties and interest due to a disaster or act of 
terrorism. We only waive penalties and interest for the 
duration of the administrative relief period.

Extension of Time to File
We automatically allow an extension to file for all 
corporations and LLCs that are not suspended or forfeited 
by FTB or SOS. We will not assess a delinquent penalty if 
you file your tax return by the extended due date. However, 
to avoid late payment penalties and interest, you must pay 
the tax due by the original tax return due date.
Interest Information
Generally, interest accrues on unpaid liabilities from the 
original due date of the tax return until the date we receive 
full payment. Interest accrues on penalties from the 
effective date of the penalty until the date we receive full 
payment. (R&TC Section 19101)
We adjust interest rates semiannually (R&TC Section 19521). 
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Late Filing Penalty – LLC and Partnership We impose 
a penalty if your entity does not file a tax return by the 
extended due date or if the returns fail to contain the 
required information (incomplete). For returns filed before 
January 1, 2011, the penalty is $10 per member/partner 
for each month or part of the month the return is late or 
incomplete, not to exceed five months. For returns with 
original due dates after January 1, 2011, for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2010, the penalty is $18 
per member/partner for each month or part of the month 
that the failure continues, but not to exceed 12 months. The 
maximum penalty is $216 per member/partner. We impose 
the Late Filing Penalty in addition to the Delinquent Penalty. 
(R&TC Section 19172) 
Late Filing Penalty – S Corporation We impose a late 
filing penalty if an S corporation fails to file a tax return by 
the extended due date or if the tax return fails to contain 
the required information (incomplete). For tax returns filed 
before January 1, 2011, the penalty is $10 per shareholder 
for each month or part of the month the tax return is late 
or incomplete, not to exceed five months. For returns with 
original due dates on or after January 1, 2011, the penalty 
is $18 per shareholder, for each month or fraction of the 
month the tax return is late (or incomplete), to a maximum 
of 12 months. We impose the Late Filing Penalty in addition 
to the Delinquent Penalty. (R&TC Section 19172.5)
Late Payment Penalty (Underpayment and 
Monthly) – Corporation and Partnership We impose 
a penalty if you do not pay the total amount due shown 
on your entity’s tax return by the original due date. The 
penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid tax, plus 0.5 percent of 
the unpaid tax for each month or part of a month it remains 
unpaid, not to exceed 40 months. The maximum penalty is 
25 percent of the unpaid tax. (R&TC Section 19132)
Late Payment Penalty (Underpayment and Monthly 
Penalty) – LLCs We impose a penalty if you do not pay 
the total amount due shown on your entity’s tax return, 
which may include tax and, if applicable, the LLC fee by the 
original due date(s). The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 
tax and/or fee, plus 0.5 percent of the unpaid tax and/or fee 
for each month or part of a month it remains unpaid, not to 
exceed 40 months. (R&TC Section 19132)
Large Corporate Understatement Penalty We impose 
a penalty when you have an understatement of tax that 
exceeds the greater of $1 million or 20 percent of the 
tax shown on your original tax return for years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2010; or exceeded $1 million 
for years beginning on or after January 1, 2003 and 
before January 1, 2010. The penalty is 20 percent of the 
understatement of tax. (R&TC Section 19138)
Dishonored Payment Penalty We impose a penalty if 
your entity’s financial institution does not honor a payment 
you make to us by check, money order, or electronic funds 
transfer. For a payment of $1,250 or more, the penalty 
is 2 percent of the payment amount. For a payment less 
than $1,250, the penalty is $25 or the payment amount, 
whichever is less. (R&TC Section 19134)
Amnesty 50 Percent Interest-Based Penalty
We impose a penalty when you have a past-due tax liability 
for a year that was eligible for tax amnesty (i.e., beginning 
before January 1, 2003), but you did not resolve your tax 
obligation. The penalty is 50 percent of the interest that 
accrued on the balance due from the original due date of 
the tax to March 31, 2005. (R&TC Section 19777.5(a)(1))
Post-Amnesty Penalty We impose a penalty when you 
owe new or additional tax for a year that was eligible for 
tax amnesty (i.e., beginning before January 1, 2003). 

The penalty is 50 percent of the interest computed on 
any final amount from the original due date of the tax 
to March 31, 2005. This penalty is an estimate and 
will be recomputed and assessed only if and when the 
proposed deficiency assessment becomes final. (R&TC 
Section 19777.5(a)(2))
Amnesty 40 Percent Accuracy-Related Penalty
We impose a penalty when your underpaid tax is due to 
negligence or disregard of rules or regulations, substantial 
understatement of tax, or substantial valuation misstatement 
for a year eligible for tax amnesty (i.e., beginning before 
January 1, 2003). The penalty is 40 percent of the 
underpayment. (R&TC Section 19164(a)(1)(B)) 
Fees
Filing Fee
For returns due on or after 01/01/2021, no filing fee is 
required.
For returns due prior to 01/01/2021, refer to the following 
information.
If we require your organization to file Form 199, it must pay 
a fee. The amount depends upon when it files Form 199 
and it makes the payment (R&TC Section 23772).
The fee is $10 if:

 • Your organization files and pays by the original 
due date.

 • Your organization files and pays after the original due 
date, but on or before the extended due date.

The fee is $25 if:
 • Your organization files by the original due date, but 

pays after that date.
 • Your organization files and pays after the extended due 

date.
We do not apply the filing fee to the following tax-exempt 
organizations (R&TC Section 23701d):

 • An exclusively religious organization.
 • An organization controlled by a religious organization.
 • A school.
 • A public charity.

Cost Recovery Fees
If we must take action to resolve your entity’s filing and 
payment delinquencies, we charge cost recovery fees. 
These may include filing enforcement, collection, lien, or 
Federal Treasury Offset Program (FTOP) fees. They may 
also include fees to recover the cost of seizure and sale 
of property. (California R&TC Sections 19209, 19233, 
19234, 19235, 19254, and 19376; Internal Revenue 
Code Section 6402(e); and California Government Code 
Sections 7174, 16583.1, 27361, 27361.3, and 27361.4).
Other Penalties and Fees
Electronic Funds Transfer Requirement
Business entities whose quarterly estimated tax payment 
or extension payment exceeds $20,000 or whose total tax 
liability exceeds $80,000 for any income year, are required 
to make all future payments by electronic funds transfer 
(EFT). Payments made by other means will be assessed a 
penalty equal to 10 percent of the amount paid. For more 
information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for eft. (R&TC 
Section 19011)
For additional information about penalties and fees, 
refer to R&TC Part 10.2, Division 2, Chapter 4, Article 7 
(R&TC Section 19131 et seq.). For more information, go 
to ftb.ca.gov/Forms and search for FTB 1024, Penalty 
Reference Chart. 


